I’m sorry, I didn’t catch that the first 87 times.

I was in the kitchen, filling a bucket with hot soapy water, when I decided to grab a few lemons to cut at a later time in the afternoon.  I knew it was a job that didn’t have to be done yet, I was just grabbing them since I was already back there.

Tweedle Dum Sum:  What are you doing?

She Who Was Prepared For This: Just grabbing lemons I’ll cut them later.  (I spat this out quickly, knowing that Tweedle Dum Sum was likely to interrupt at any moment, and I wanted to get my point across before the yelling began.)

Tweedle Dum Sum: You have to finish cleaning the bar first!  You can’t cut lemons yet!

She Who Was Prepared For This:  I know.  (I’m keeping things short to prevent a blowout from occurring.)

Tweedle Dum Sum: You have more important things to do now!

She Who Was Prepared For This:  I know.

Tweedle Dum Sum:  You can’t cut the lemons yet!

She Who Was Prepared For This:  Okay.  (At this point I’m biting my cheeks to prevent myself from laughing.  I can taste blood.)

Tweedle Dum Sum:  You should know by now that lemons are cut last!

She Who Is No Longer Prepared For Any Of This: I wasn’t going to-

Tweedle Dum Sum:   You can’t cut the lemons yet!

She Who Is Growing Tired Of This:  I’m not.

Tweedle Dum Sum: Stop arguing and go finish the bar.

She Who Is Growing Tired Of This:  Of course.

One Response to “I’m sorry, I didn’t catch that the first 87 times.”

  1. Hey, did you know that you can’t cut the lemons yet?

Leave a Reply

