11k and counting!

National Novel Writing Month is in full swing, and I am proud to say that I have put down the novel I was previously working on and have been furiously pounding the keyboard to crank out this new novel.  I chose a story that I called Transmission, because it was a story I had been having an incredibly difficult time writing.  I figured, when you are forced to crank out 50,000 words in a month, you have to say goodbye to your internal editor, and my editor was giving me a really hard time with Transmission.  Now that I have kicked him to the curb, things are going rather smoothly.  I’m ahead of the game by about 1000 words I believe, which gives me a little bit of padding for days when I don’t feel like writing.  My story, so far, is very simple, because I am allowing the main character, Ella to figure things out on her own.  All I have right now is a girl who works at an animal shelter.  The radio that she carries while at work, the one she uses to talk to the other employees, begins talking to her.  The man in the radio tells her to start doing things.  What kind of things though?  And who is this man?  Is it supernatural?  Is it a murderer?  An Alien?  We currently have no idea.  Because Ella hasn’t gotten there yet. It is kind of exciting to do a novel in this way, letting the characters dictate what happens to them.  They start to become their own people, and soon, I will feel like I am no longer creating them at all.

On a similar note, while at one of our monthly get-togethers, I found out that my friend, Veronika Stevens, has finally self published her book.  She is working on editing it as we speak, but we talked for a while about self publishing, and she informed me that it is way cheaper than I originally thought.  I expected the cost to skyrocket, with editing, typesetting, and so on, but all she does is get a copy for herself, make changes in the book, fix it online, and order another copy.  At 6 bucks a copy from createspace, that is not a bad way to go.  I’m excited, because my 7 year novel in the works could finally get published soon.  I think after November is up, I’ll get that all set up.  As for now though, I must stop typing, as I need to conserve my finger energy for more writing later.

Leave a Reply

