The end is nigh.

I am reaching the end of the month, and NaNoWriMo will soon be coming to a close. It has been a tumultuous month, wrought with frustration, exhaustion, and sore hurty fingers. There were a few moments where I felt as though the story was going nowhere, and I definitely spent some time assuming the story was going to end halfway through, me throwing in the towel and deciding that it wasn’t actually worth fighting for. But we’ve hit the end, I hit my 50,000, and for the first time in the 6 years that I’ve done this, I’m actually further pursuing the story, pushing forward with it until I get to the actual end. For me, 50,000 does not end the story, but the last word of the story is what ends it this time. I got to spend some time with some great friends this month, I got to be a part of their stories building and transforming, I got to be there when the characters took on lives of their own and began dictating the story themselves. And to make things even more amazing, there was no drama this year, no arguing, no family issues to deal with. It was smooth sailing, smooth writing, and a smooth ending. We have one more meet up on Thursday and a party on Saturday to celebrate our victory. And starting next month, I’ll be working on getting my novel self published. I had a great time this month, but I am definitely glad it is coming to an end.

 

Leave a Reply

