Blog Hop: Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing.

First of all, I would like to thank RebekahWolveire for inviting me to do this.  You can see her blog by clicking on her name.

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing: Amy Stewart, author of Polarity

What is the working title of your book?
It will be called Polarity.

Where did the idea come from for the book?
It actually came from a rather random event that I had seen while driving one day.  I was taking a side road home when I saw a man sitting in his car in an abandoned parking lot, next to a cemetery.  He had his head in his hands.  I thought it so interesting that I began to write about it.  Over the course of the next year I sort of absorbed two other stories into the main piece, and used a very strange dream I had once as a climax.

What genre does your book fall under?
Science Fiction.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I have always thought that it would be amazing to see this turned into a movie. I don’t really know who I’d want to play my main characters.  Maybe James Franco as my main character, Tom, who is rather stubborn and thick headed.  Emma Watson could play Kara, as long as she went back to looking like Hermione.  And Christopher Walken or Steve Buscemi would have to play my villain, Kurt, because they are naturally very silly looking, and Kurt has some facial…um…issues.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
I can’t do it in one sentence.  This is the best I got.  “Polarity is the story of three separate universes being held apart by a giant supercomputer called The Conductor.  But the Conductor has grown weak, and his demise will bring about the end of existence.  Can two young strangers from different worlds work together to save him before their time runs out?”

That doesn’t sound very good at all.  I don’t like it.  Ech.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
Definitely going to self publish.  I’m tired of trying to selling it to publishers.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
It took me about a year to finish it, as I had started to write it right about the time that my daughter was born.  With that and work, it was slow going for me.  That was seven years ago, and I still find myself tweaking and editing it from time to time.  I need to get this thing published soon.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
NO! MY BOOK IS ONE OF A KIND! MWAH HA HA HA!

Who or What inspired you to write this book?
What inspired me was Stephen King’s belief that a story could come from the most mundane of things.  In his book, “On Writing,” he talks about the genesis of some of his work.  Late night trips to gas stations, a crap day at work.  I had started to look for the simpler things in life to help me come up with ideas, and then I saw the man by the cemetery, and everything sort of fell into place.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
What I like so much about the book is the fact that the characters always seem to be changing.  The villain, Kurt, goes from strong and sure of himself to nervous and weak.  Kara goes from being weak to being a hardass to potentially being a villain and back again. Each character has at least one point in the story where you have to stop and say “Wait, is he/she/it a good guy or a bad guy?”  It keeps the readers thinking the entire time, constantly wondering what it is that they are supposed to believe.  I feel like everyone will still be shocked in the end.

This is where I am supposed to tag people, but I haven’t found anyone to tag yet, sadly enough.  Most of the writers I know have already been tagged by this.  It is the problem of only knowing a small group of writers.

Leave a Reply

