A week of disappointments.

After finding out that the Amazon contest would take full creative credit from me, I decided to go back to self publishing.  This would be nice, except my computer has so little memory that it can’t open my novel.  I had it saved with a different word processing program, and the memory needed to convert it to the program I am currently using is too much for this little 2g of memory sunuvabitch to handle.  I intended to buy more, but money is tight around the holidays, so I’ll have to wait.  I am considering emailing the document to my boyfriends computer and using it to convert the document, and send it back to me all fixed-like.  It’s annoying, but  my other option is to wait until I have some extra money, which could be months.

On an equally depressing note, I decided I was going to start reworking my National Novel Writers Month novel from last year.  I guess a positive thing that happened recently was me finally finishing my NaNoWriMo novel from this year.  I opened the document…

…nothing.

Somehow, during the multiple transfers that poor thing has had to make, from one computer to another, from hard drive to computer and back again, it decided that life was not worth living and it killed itself.  So I have to rewrite the entire damned thing.  I’m going into it as though it is NaNoWriMo again.  Not with the horrifying impending deadline, but with the understanding that this is a first draft and doesn’t have to look perfect.  I’m flying through it at a breakneck pace, no quotations, no paragraph breaks, just one big long ass paragraph that would likely make little sense to anyone but me.  But I’m hoping to get it done in the next month or so, considering I remember how it goes, so there should hopefully be no writers block there, and at some point this month I might stop to get my first novel thrown into CreateSpace.

In the past, I had lots of stories going at the same time.  I thought this would prevent me from getting bored.  But I’m realizing now that the right way to do things is work until you finish something, and then move to something else.  I feel like it might be the professional writer way to do it.  So, for now, what I have is this:

1) Finish “Surviving Solitude”

2) Publish “Polarity”

3) Start editing “Transmission” and publish it.

4)Start editing “Surviving Solitude” and publish it.

Afterwards, who knows?  I think I might try to finish a bunch of short stories I have and put them in a book together.  But that is way down the line.  For now, I’m going to focus on trying not to cry that I have to rewrite this fucking thing.

Leave a Reply

