Camp NaNoWriMo

So, as you guys obviously know, if you have been reading any of this shit, that is, that I have been participating in National Novel Writers Month (NaNoWriMo) for like 6 years now. It takes place in the month of November, but they have a few other events during the year as well. One is Script Frenzy, where you write a script in a month, and Camp NaNoWriMo, which is pretty much exactly like regular NaNoWriMo, except you do it in April and July, I believe. Up until this point I have had no desire to go to camp. I love to write, but NaNoWriMo is stressful, and time consuming, and I have always felt like once a year was enough. Any more than that, and synapses in my brain might cease to fire completely.

Something about my boyfriend bringing it up this year, however, made me change my mind.

It was nothing different than any of the other times he has gone to camp. “I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo” he says, and I nod and silently think him to be insane for wanting to do this whole process halfway through the recovery to the next NaNo. But I have a handful of stories that I have just recently begun giving a crap about, so doing this might end up being a good opportunity for me to get some real work done. It also allows me a whole month to think about something other than my novel. It would be nice if it was completely finished before April, of course, but if there is more work to be done, I can take solace in the fact that I won’t have to think about it for a while.

Now that I’m thinking about it, there are so many things that I could work on this month. I could finish my short story compilation by finally writing all of the stories I had wanted to put into it. I could work on my haunted house story I just started. I could fire up an old plot that never got used and turn it into something awesome.

I’m actually looking forward to this. Now all I have to do is think of something to write about.

Leave a Reply

