Being magnum opus free is giving me a boredom headache.

My novel is done. I have finally published what I have been working on for 8 fucking years. It’s available now through createspace and amazon. People can buy it. There is nothing else I need to do with it.

So what the hell am I supposed to work on now?

The last week has been strange. I haven’t really been able to devote myself to any specific story idea. I have so many plot lines started that they have begun to tangle themselves up inside of my brain. But I feel so directionless and am completely incapable of untangling any of them. The last week has pretty much gone as follows.

1) I sit down in front of my computer.

2) I open up the story I tried to work on the night before.

3) 45 minutes of staring.

4) I decide that watching 8 back to back episodes of “The L Word” is a more appropriate way to spend the night.

Still though, I am forcing myself not to stress about it. My brain has gone from 90 MPH to a dead stop in such a short period of time that I think it’s understandable to feel disconnected from the writing for a little while. But it’s Friday now, and I’m feeling like I might be able to get back into things again. I realize that part of my desire to be not writing right now might have something to do with the fear that I might never be able to write something that I am so passionate about again. I’m sure this too will fade, so for now, I’m happy to be getting anything done at all.

It’s back to “The L Word” for me. Go buy my book.

Leave a Reply

