Hey, I have to write. You know what I should do instead?

This is a post about me, falling behind on my NaNoWriMo story, and choosing instead to create a blog post!

I have this imaginary painful spot on my finger. It really hurts, but the spot that it hurts the most has no real reason to hurt. I feel like something is shoved into my skin, but there’s NOTHING THERE, It’s all burny.

I have a to-do list, and writing a blog post this week was on it, so I guess I’m at the very least being sort of productive, right?

I should be writing about relevant things, like my progress or the novel I have for sale on Amazon.com. Instead I’m writing about my burny finger AND

I have been craving sushi for like a month. The veggie kind. With rooster sauce on it. Yeah. I wish I had a car so I could go to this one restaurant and be like “God dammit give me all the sushi.” That would be amazing.

Le sigh. This is becoming a waste.

Seriously though, this is my first time doing Camp NaNoWriMo, and I don’t like it. Not that it is any different than actual NaNoWriMo, but it is leaving me frustrated and wanting to do things other than write, like talk about sushi and create art using Gallifreyan symbols to spell out people’s names. Forcing myself to sit down and write is something that I have had to do for the last 10 days. There is no joy in it. I think part of the reason is that my brain needs a full year to recover from the November writing spree. Part of it has to do with the fact that I am working on a fantasy novel, and this is not a subject I am well versed on, so the movements to the 50,000 line are slow and awkward. Much like a sad, pathetic robot whose batteries are about cashed. If we are working in actual mathematical numbers, those each contain about 33.33 percent of the reason I am having a hard time with this. The last slice of the 33.33 pie is the fact that work has been stressing me out (whine) and I’m considering going back to school and trying to figure out if doing so is even financially feasible. (whine) My brain is small and simple and can’t hold all this shit inside of it.

So instead I am here. Writing for barely anyone. (whine) when I should be writing. But I found out today that there is a write-athon going on on Saturday from 1 to 9PM. I don’t work that day, and my daughter will likely be at my moms house to spend the night. They are having some sort of live telethon type show going on on the interwebs, so I can be with other people frantically trying to bump their word count, in spirit anyway. Hopefully I will be able to get things going a little faster that day.

For now, however, I’m going to get off the dang interwebs and try to work, at least for a little while. And also think about sushi.

Leave a Reply

