My most recent “book signing”.

I put “book signing” in quotes, because even though i thought that was what it was, it actually kind of wasn’t.

I got to the library at about 6:30 with a bag packed with my tablet, business cards and some books. I figured the tablet would be important, because the last time I did a book signing, I would get a little stir crazy in between interested readers and needed something to do with my hands. So I show up, find out that the event is being held in a downstairs auditorium, and head down. I am greeted when I get down there by a gentleman who is very kind, and asks me if I need any AV equipment for my speech.

“What speech?” I ask.

“Nobody told you how this works?” He replied, confused.

I shook my head. He leads me into the auditorium, and shows me the podium on the stage. And the seats lined up underneath it.

“Usually people like to have a slide show while they talk,” the guy said.

“Up until this point I didn’t realize I’d be doing any talking.”

The next 30 minutes were filled with tears, panicking, and last minute speech preparations. I had no idea what I was going to talk about. I wasn’t ready for any of this at all. Thankfully, I have a fantastic support system, and my fiancee and good friend did their best to calm me down.

I was still pretty nervous when I went up on stage, but managed to stay up there for almost 45 minutes. I read the first chapter, plugged Blue Box Books, and talked a bit about the writing process and my love of the craft. The audience asked some great questions that kept things going as long as it did. When it was done I felt ecstatic, and completely proud of myself for having pulled the whole thing off without any kind of preparation or anything. Plus I got paid to be there, and I sold a book!

A really interesting thing that is going to help drive me when it comes to my next books was the discussion about science fiction in general. It was said that sci-di is a genre that doesn’t seem to get a lot of media coverage. New sci-fi books in the library come by rarely, if at all, sci-fi speakers don’t show up often at libraries and such for signings. It is something that sets me apart from the other local authors, and I like that I have something different to offer people.

Leave a Reply

