Anyone ever hear of Wattpad?

So I found this app on my tablet one day while looking for new games and whatnot to download. Turns out, it is a actual website as well. I liked it, because it seemed to just be a free reader app, and I love reading while I’m on my lunch break at work. But when I started to dig a little deeper, I discovered that Wattpad is basically a free file sharing site for aspiring writers. The site holds no copyrights to your work, you don’t have to pay to submit stories, and everything is immediately available for others to read. I decided to give it a try, hoping that my posting once monthly chapters to a book I’ve been meaning to write will allow myself to build up a solid fan base. I have noticed that some writers post rudimentary novel beginnings on the site, and once the entire thing is edited and polished up, they offer the book for a small fee to those that had been following them as they wrote it. I haven’t gotten my Wattpad page up and running yet, but I did start writing something for it. Not sure where it’s going, but it opens with a girl and a guy who are running from the police for some reason. The girl is peeing in a bush and her wrist is broken. The guy seems to be very sick and is brandishing a shotgun.

Yeah. This is going to be one of those stories where the characters begin to develop themselves over time. All I know about this so far is that I just finished reading “Doomed” by Chuck Palahniuk, and his influence is definitely readable in what I’ve got written down. I am hoping to get the first chapter up in the next few days, and I’ll post a link to it here, of course.

Leave a Reply

