I did a thing!

The other day, I decided, sort of on a whim, to create a collage. The fun thing about having an equally creative daughter is that she loves making spontaneous art with me, so there really is no excuse for me to not be doing stuff like this every day.

We sat down at the table with two Oriental Trading catalogues, and two pieces of cardboard. Our goal was to make a collage using those two catalogues. That was it. No paint, no scrapbooking paper, just catalog pieces and Mod Podge.

We had a blast. I realized that what is required is to go into something like this without worrying about how it’s going to look in the end. I made it a point to remind myself that sometimes, things turn out ugly, and that’s okay. Before coming to this realization, I would have seen what I had created and thrown it away. But this website especially is helping me to embrace my flaws and my imperfections. It also helps show my progress. I’m not all that great at this shit yet, but at least I’m making an effort now.

CAM00364

Leave a Reply

