Brainstorming for November.

For a while, I was considering writing a second book to the novel that I had written last year that I called “Maybe, This Planet.” I really liked where it was going, and it has that feel of an epic story, something that I can really draw out into a couple of books. At the moment though, I’m toggling between that one and an idea that I had recently. I mentioned before, the idea of turning a Bat for Lashes album into a series of short stories, but I feel that that will not work quite the way I had wanted it to. There is one song, however, that I absolutely adore, and I feel it could be turned into a story. I have to be careful, research this a bit, to make sure that I can do something like this without getting into trouble. What I’m doing, really, is taking a 2 minute song and changing it and turning it  into a novel. I don’t think there is anything wrong with that, as long as I do my best to really deviate from the song enough to not make it so obvious that I got the idea from it. Here is what I have so far for this:

The story is about a girl who is woken up in the middle of the night and told that she has to begin a journey to find a missing book that had long ago been stolen by gnomes. She is given a bag of supplies and a horse and is told to leave immediately. During her journey, she meets interesting characters, gets hunted, and learns how to take care of and defend herself. Writing this makes it sound very juvenile fiction, but, as typical for my fucked up brain, I’m hoping to turn this into something really dark. I’m hoping that this one works, although I plan to keep part two of my other novel on the back burner, in case things don’t happen the way I want them to.

Leave a Reply

